History of I-League

At a Glance – NFL/I-League

1) The inaugural edition of the National Football League (NFL) was held in 1996-97 and JCT Club were the maiden champions.

I-League started from 2007-08 which was won by Dempo Sports Club.

2) Dempo SC have won the national title a maximum of 5 times (NFL-2, I-League-3), Mohun Bagan 3 times (NFL-3), East Bengal – 3 times (NFL-3) , Salgaocar Club  Twice (NFL-1, I-League-1), Churchill Brothers – Twice (I League-2), JCT Club (NFL), Mahindra United (NFL) and Bengalaru FC (I-League) – once each.

3) No team have won the title three years in a row.East Bengal (2002-03, 2003-04) and Dempo Club (2006-07, 2007-08) have won the title two years in a row.

4) East Bengal have recorded the maximum of 194 wins in NFL/I League.

5) East Bengal hold the record of being unbeaten in 22 consecutive matches from Jan, 2002 – April, 2003 of NFL.

6) Mohun Bagan recorded the maximum of 10 consecutive wins in 2008-09 – I-League.

7) Churchill Brothers have scored the maximum  of 623 goals in NFL/I League.

8)  Leading Scorers
Ranti Martins – 185 goals
Odafa Okolie  – 165 goals
Yusif Yakubu – 146 goals
Chidi Edeh – 103 goals
Jose Barreto – 101 goals
Baichung Bhutia – 89 goals
Sunil Ch