By Debayan Mukherjee,
AIFF Media Team

Rangdajied United FC 3 (Charles Dzisah – OG 5th, Restom Khriam – 45th, Shin Hojun – 85th)


Mohammedan Sporting 1 (Jerry Zirsingha – 83rd)

BANGALORE: Rangdajied United FC became the second team to qualify for I-League 2013-14 by beating Kolkata Mohammedan Sporting 3-1 in the final phase of the 2nd Division League match at the Bangalore Stadium on Saturday (April 27, 2013).

This is the first time that the club from Shillong – also the champions of 2nd Division League with 19 points from 10 outings — will take part in the Elite League. Rangdajied have won all their matches in the Second Round of the final phase.

For the record, the closest Rangdajied came to qualifying for the I-League was in 2011 when they had finished fourth in the Final Phase and narrowly missed out from the 2011-12 I-League.

The Meghalaya side got a shot in the arm in the 5th minute of the match itself when Sporting’s Charles Dzisah spooned a Shin Hojun floater into his own net.

Restom Khriam doubled the lead at the stroke of half-time after being set up brilliantly by Babatunde Ayomide.

Shin Hojun sealed the issue with a solo effort in the 85th minute.

For Sporting Jerry Zirzingha pulled one back in the 83rd minute.

It was all Rangdajied from the kick-off. They weaved together some beautiful passes splitting open the Mohammedan rearguard time and again. Skipper Restom Khriam’s low free kick in the 21st minute was tipped away by goalkeeper Somnath Khara.

In the second half, goalkeeper Shambhu Mistry pulled off a magnificent save and Shin Hojun missed the target by a whisker.

Post breather, Sporting played with more flair but their counterparts were rock solid in defence too. Mohammedan ended their campaign with 18 points from 10 matches.

In the other match of the day, Bhawanipore FC came back from a goal down to beat Mumbai Tigers 5-3 in a high-scoring match. After  Surkumar Singh had given Mumbai FC the lead in the 37th minute, Snehashish Dutta equalised at the stroke of half time.

It was all Bhawanipore in the second essay as Jose Ramires Barreto, Jagannath Sana, Abhiniash Rudias and Hudson Lima Silva found the back of the net.

Durga Boro scored twice for Mumbai Tigers. Courtesy the result, Bhawanipore remained in the third position with 17 points from 10 matches while Mumbai Tigers finished fourth managing nine points from same number of matches.




Comments are closed.